skip to Main Content

The minimum number of seats a Member State has is three (3) seats. In deciding on country choices, this should be considered your minimum number of delegates to represent each Member State (if the Member State has seats on additional committees, such as ECOSOC or the Security Council, they are in addition to the minimum).

Issues Books, providing information and further resources for understanding the topics under discussion in each committee, can be accessed by clicking the names of the committees listed below. Issues Books are updated on November 1 prior to each session.

Please note that Security Council issues (and the subject of this committee’s policy statements) are selected by individual delegates based on the national priorities of the country they are representing. Delegates are encouraged to review the current agenda of the United Nations Security Council to assist with topic selection.

All Member States have seats in the following committees:

General Assembly
GA Third Committee
United Nations Environment Assembly
World Press: All Countries may have press representatives. (This is an optional position)

The following committees have limited membership, see committee membership lists below:

Commission on Science and Technology for Development
Commission on the Status of Women
Security Council
International Court of Justice

Committee Membership:

Permanent Members

  • China
  • France
  • Russian Federation
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

Rotating Members

  • Algeria
  • Denmark
  • Greece
  • Guyana
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Republic of Korea
  • Sierra Leone
  • Slovenia
  • Somalia


  • Angola
  • Australia
  • China
  • Columbia
  • Denmark
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • Gambia
  • Japan
  • Myanmar
  • New Zealand


Back To Top